3.2 PMBOK's methodology

PMBOK covers five main project processes compared to the „classical management hypothesis''” four defined by Michael Porter.

  1. Initiating: to define and authorize the project; gathering commitments to get started

  2. Planning: to shape the goals and the outcomes of the project; identifying the plan and resources for the schedule

  3. Executing: to deliver assets of the project plan; coordinating people and resources to execute project tasks

  4. Controlling and Monitoring: assessing the outcomes, comparing them to previously setup goals and baselines; ensuring objectives are met by measuring the progress

  5. Closing: formal acceptance of the project by stakeholders; finalizing activities; bringing an orderly end

These processes overlaps and interacts throughout the project.


Figure 3.1: The core management processes defined by Michael Porter


Figure 3.2: The core project management areas defined by PMBOK


PMBOK have three main categories on key aspects of the projects, known as knowledge areas. By getting aware and mastering these areas the five processes of a project can be managed effectively.

PMBOK Knowledge areas:

  • Core areas – foundational aspects having a high influence on functionality, deadline, cost and quality (quadruple project factors)

    • Scope management

    • Time management

    • Cost management

    • Quality management

  • Facilitating areas– supportive to success factors with lower influence on the quadruple factors

    • Communication management

    • Human resource management

    • Risk management

    • Procurement management

  • Coordination areas

    • Integration Management


Figure 3.3: PMBOK core, facilitating and coordination activities and their influence on the quadruple constraints of the project